Ghost Story (Short Story)

img_3586

Wind hissed past my ears as I ran downhill. Sticks and gravel skidded under my feet occasionally. I had to check my pace as I hurtled past trees. If I tripped they would catch me. I hadn’t seen them but I could hear them behind me their panting an echo of mine. They called for me to stop. There was no way I was stopping not with a ghost chasing me. I didn’t dare glance back at the shadowy figure. I had nearly caught up to my friends. I yelled at them to run. Then I was in the middle of them. They grabbed me asking what was wrong spinning me around.

‘Ghost,’ I panted pulling at them to run with me.

I couldn’t see them but I could hear them around the corner panting and feet slipping. Then just as my friends were starting to run the girl rounded the corner.

‘Wait,’ she panted, ‘your phone.’

We all stopped and looked back at her and my friends looked at me with looks that asked seriously that’s your ghost.

‘Thanks,’ I took my phone from her, ‘I thought you were a ghost, I’m sorry I ran.’

She smiled at me and vanished.

2 thoughts on “Ghost Story (Short Story)

Leave a Reply

