Waking Up With Wings (Exergesis)

Waking Up With Wings is a story about something I used to dream about a lot. It is about flying and about falling. I used to dream and daydream about flying and I used to dream about falling and still do regularly. I never actually dreamt about having wings or wished for wings. Although if that was a way I would be able to fly that I would have gone for it. I usually imagined flying being able to swim in the air, or float.

It didn’t occur to me that flying might be dangerous when I was little. However as I got older I started to think of problems associated with the ability to fly. People would see me and I would get lots of unwanted attention. Or if everyone could suddenly fly they sky would become crowded. More recently I worried about the physical dangers such as wind, injury and death.

When I was in primary school. I had a dream I could fly and at school the next day, I tried and tried to fly. I even jumped off things. I thought if I could believe hard enough it would work. I didn’t jump off anything much more than a meter off the ground fortunately. I may have believed I could fly, I just didn’t trust that it would work every time and I was too scared. Not such a bad thing really

It’s funny that me, someone who is scared of heights would want to fly. Maybe I want to be able to fly so I will no longer have to fear heights.

One thought on “Waking Up With Wings (Exergesis)

Leave a Reply

